A Request For Your Family Albums

As I continue to work with family as a part of my recent work, I have stumbled across a new series of images that I would like to pursue. Unlike the first part of this project where I recreated past family photos, I want to look at the places where we put photos. After handling so many of my own family images, I discovered that the shoe boxes and albums they were kept in were just as interesting as the images themselves.

I look at these containers as a geologist might see a core sample of rocks. As the old boxes fall part and new ones are added, we can see the layers of history unique to each family. This personal archive exists in all families that collect their own images. Whether it is in an album or a tin can, these containers become an intimate item within the family.

Now to the part where you come in, I would like to ask for these containers from your family so that I may document them. I do not expect to have the family photos in these when given to me, but the boxes and albums themselves. As I understand these are precious in some cases just like the photos, all care will be taken to ensure their safety. Whether I pick them up personally or you wish them to be shipped to me, I will cover all expenses in this processes. These images of the albums will be for my professional practice and they will part of my larger body of work dealing with family.

If you are interested in allowing me to documenting these boxes and albums, contact me through email at info@justinschwab.com or find me on twitter at justin_schwab.

 

 

 

Leave a Reply

